Untitled # (2016)40×30″

img_0963
I prefer to journal about my work as a painter when I post publicly , however I have been too busy buried in work at university to journal much of late.  When the fall semester ended I was able to catch up on some canvas works to post.

This was a piece that came to me rather quickly. My mother-in-law had recently underwent knee replacement surgery. My wife and daughter went to Kansas City to assist her while I stayed here due to my teaching responsibilities. I didn’t know what to do with myself in an empty home, so I lost myself in painting.  This  began a rather productive streak of late.

I am drawn to this division of color spaces and the imperfection of the dividing line or for that matter the duplication of dividing lines of different size and shape. The only color that is a great common denominator here which can be found in many of my works is the red. Red for me, and blue for that matter have so much positive symbolism for me.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

